Parts of plants

Plants have two main parts, those that are underground and those that we can see.

The part of the plant it´s underground is called root. The root has three functions:

  1. The roots stabilise the plant in the ground so it does not blow away.
  2. The roots absorb water from the soil.
  3. The roots store the food.

The part of the plant we can see is called shoot. The shoot has different parts:

- The stem: it´s the part of the plant that holds the plant up towards the sunlight and it carries the water from the roots to the rest of the plant.

- The leaves: they take in sunlight to make food (photosynthesis) and take carbon dioxide and release oxigen.

- The flowers: they are bright and colourful in order to attract insects and they produce pollen.

- The fruits: are the part of a flowering plant that contains the seeds.

- The seeds: new plants grow from seeds.