Animal Kingdom

Scientists use classification to identify, study, group and name organisms (living things). There are many groups to classify organisms, the biggest is the KINGDOM.

There are 5 different kingdoms: animal, plant, protist, bacteria and fungal.

We are going to learn about the animal kingdom.

The animal kingdom is very diverse, but all animals have some common characteristics:

- Animals are all multicellular.

- Animals do not make their own food.

We can divide animals in two big groups: vertebrate and invertebrate.


Vertebrate animals

They have a backbone to support their body. They also have a skeleton inside them.

Most vertebrate animals have a torso and limbs.


Invertebrate animals

They don´t have a backbone, however some of them have a shell to protect their bodies, like oysters or  snails.

Others have an exoskeleton. This is like an armor outside their bodies, like crabs.

Finally, some invertebrates don´t have any protection, they only have a soft body.